Tweet Your Way Through The Game!


I joined Twitter probably about two years ago
when no one knew what it was. I didn’t even know what it was. I only joined because someone whose work I admired and whom I wanted to emulate had joined. Since then the site has grown by leaps and bounds. Now the words “tweet” and “tweeting” have become as much a part of the internet lexicon as the word “email.”

What used to be something only computer geeks did is now becoming part of mainstream new media. I would venture to say that it might be becoming it’s own new medium. So many companies, groups and government organizations have accounts! Even the White House has one!

What I’m most impressed about, however, is seeing how sports fans are coming together through it, doing “in-game tweets.”  And it’s not just fans who are doing it. Beat writers are tweeting from the press box and sportstalk radio hosts are tweeting in-game from their studios. I had so much fun last night during the Yankee game, tweeting with fans and beat writers. When the Yankees lost I didn’t feel as bad as I usually do, I think because I’d been commisserating with Yankee fans for the past few hours.

If you don’t have a Twitter account I think it worth looking into.

 Happy Tweeting! 

2 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    I felt the same way last night, Bern. The loss wasn’t so bad because we all had each other to crack each other up. (I loved when you said you hoped Mark Feinsand’s segment in the booth wouldn’t last long. LOL) Happy Tweeting!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

Leave a comment